EFT research

by therapyjourney

I can’t say I’m not disappointed. My counsellor D didn’t show up for this evening’s session. I texted her to confirm I had arrived but she had emailed me (only one hour before) which isn’t helpful as I don’t have a smart phone or email access at work.

However I did lots of research while I was at work mainly on Emotional Freedom Techniques, a practice introduced by Gary Craig which he describes as acupuncture without the needles. Craig was a student of Roger Callahan, who developed Though Field Therapy in the 1980s, and the two are closely linked.

EFT as it is known can be used to for emotional wellbeing rather than to treat physical ailments as acupuncture, acupressure, etc often focus on. It borrow from these ancient processes the belief in “meridians” which are the energy circuits flowing that flow through your body.

EFT uses a tapping technique around the base of these meridians to effect the energy already within the body, while focusing on a particular issue or subject.

I didn’t want to be convinced by it, and I did a lot of reading on the counter-arguments such as this one  (written 14 years ago but still pertinent) but something made me want to try it. Perhaps it’s just very persuasively written. There is something intuitively correct about a belief in energy flowing through the body. It’s not as if I have ever even thought about it before today, but the idea just seems like a jigsaw falling into place. It’s hard for someone unscientific like me to dispute that our bodies do have an electrical nature to them. We experience static electricity as it whizzes though our body, and electricity transmits electrical impulses to our brain through our nerves.

I would like to believe that there’s a dimension to our own behaviour and thoughts that we’re not entirely aware of, but that exerts its control over us in both subtle and powerful ways. Perhaps that goes some way to explaining the phenomenon of moods – why we can feel so different from minute to minute and day to day. Could it be partly due to our energy being blocked? Complex physiological beasts that we are, and with spiritual sides that us westerners often aren’t even aware of.

The Discovery Statement of EFT is this:

The cause of all negative emotions is a disruption in the body’s energy system

Definitely sounds like it’s worth a try, and I like the fact that after being shown how to do it (or even watching videos online) you can do it yourself at home any time you like without having to visit a practitioner.

