Craniosacral therapy. The mind is like a monkey.

by therapyjourney

There is another type of therapy that I am trying out. So far I’ve only been to one session. It’s called craniosacral therapy and it’s a healing therapy in which the practitioner lightly touches the patient’s skull, neck, face and spine which is meant to regulate the flow of cerebrospinal fluid. However the treatment isn’t just used for problems relating to the head. This treatment also is very much a holistic one, with the potential to rejuvenate the body, mind and spirit.

This is taken from the CST website:

“When a Craniosacral therapist places her hands lightly on you, she is using them to listen to you in much the same way that a counsellor might listen to your words. Your body responds to this sensitive touch by beginning to listen to itself. A feeling that you have been heard in the truest sense of the word is a common experience during and after a Craniosacral session”

I felt transported while I was on the CST table. The practitioner, B, put me at ease with his softly spoken and gentle manner. He sat me down and asked me questions about what my issues are, my personal situation, my overall health etc. Then I lay on the table on my back and he placed his hands just underneath my head for a few minutes. Then he moved them to the base of my spine, and moved them again back to the head and neck, changing his hands’ position around six times over the course of our session.

During the process I felt serenely, sublimely relaxed. It’s not like having a massage where there is a deliberate and almost forceful touch. The touch that is administered with CST is so subtle that you can barely feel it, and I think in the right moment you can forget the therapist’s hands are there at all. I imagine you can drift off to sleep quite easily too.

At one point during the therapy, B asked what I could feel. I replied that I could feel the minute movements in his hands as they lightly rested on my head. He said no, that was actually the bones in my head moving! At the end he said I was very responsive to treatment, and I too came out feeling that it was satisfying and worthwhile, and I really crave more.

I am keeping an open mind about it all. I know people say that with a cynical smirk, but I am opening up my experience parameters and with this spirit, if my CST therapist said my skull moved, then it moved. For the purposes of my journey, I don’t really care about whether alternative therapies such as this have been discredited by science. If they work for me, then I will continue using them. It might just be that it’s nice being in a different house, with a calm person treating you with kindness. If that’s all it is then that is enough for it to be valid.

So I was recommended by my GP two weeks ago to get in touch with my local council’s CBT counselling service which I urge anyone with mental health issues, however minor, to look into for themselves. I had no idea there was such a thing available for free on the NHS. I had to wait until yesterday for my telephone assessment and unfortunately it doesn’t look like this is going to be a viable route for me, as the waiting list for my local council’s services is around 12 weeks and I need results sooner than that.

I went back to my GP this afternoon and let him know about that. I told him of all the therapy I am doing and he was proud, which means a lot. He reckoned I was happier than a fortnight ago. He spoke a lot about how it is possible to change your behaviour, and of some of the traits of depressed behaviour, and of meditation and how it is intelligence taking control of the mind. The mind is like a monkey, it likes to wander. It was a lot to take in! Brilliantly, he will recommend me for any mental health therapy courses that I want to attend. I intend to take a course in mindfulness that will run from April for eight weeks. I said that this journey, specifically to rid myself of anger, will probably last the rest of my life. He disagreed, saying it will take around a year. That filled me with enormous hope, even if I find it more implausible than craniosacral therapy.

Overall I feel happy and I am sure that everyone around me has noticed a difference too. I feel more relaxed around my partner and I think all the changes that are happening are positive ones, I just hope they are lasting.

Just for the sheer goddang of it, one of my images.

help

