Conversations with God. Fear and love.

by therapyjourney

I recently chanced upon the writings of someone that I know and respect and they said there was a book that awakened her. She wrote that, after reading this particular book, “for the first time, [I was] in deep peace and comfortable in my own skin. I knew this feeling as love, without condition just as it was, without the need to change a thing. A moment of surrender, it was bliss.” With a recommendation like that, I was curious, especially as this person spent much of their life with all the comforts and amenities of first world living, yet still felt a lack on some level (and the guilt that that entails); and on still another level, an internal, deep-rooted sense of inadequacy.

I picked up the book that kickstarted my friend’s journey. The book is called Conversations With God by Neale Donald Walsch. I don’t believe in God. Not the God of the Bible, Quran, Torah or Veda. I didn’t believe in God as a spiritual being that gives life and love to all, as the beating heart of the cosmos. I never understood the idea of God as Love – though I often wanted to even as a child and young adult. Now as I stand on the cusp of a new decade, having just received some decisive news about my health and the necessity of an invasive operation with a 5% mortality rate, I am ready and open to God in a way that I never have been before. I am open to the spirit, chi, life force, God, soul… and I know that it is within me in a way that brings tears to my eyes.

Walsch wrote a letter to God and got a response. This book is God’s response. The insights, truths and answers that ‘God’ gave show nothing more or less than the fact that God is in all of us, that’s what this book is about. There was nothing special about Walsch, he wasn’t the chosen one. He simply had an inspiration that feeling is the language of the soul, and that which comes from God is our highest thought, our clearest word, our grandest feeling. Anything less is not from God.

How did he know the communication was from God? It only matters that what Walsch felt was real, that he had chanced upon fundamental truths. What would be the difference whether it was imagination or madness? We all have a duty to receive the messages of God directly. Experiencing and interpreting them is our responsibility. Most of us are not willing to listen.

Love is another word for God. Unconditional love doesn’t exist in the human sphere. I certainly have trouble understanding God that loves unconditionally. This really struck a chord with me: “It was your parents who taught you that love is conditional – and that is the experience you take into your own love relationships. It is also the experience you bring to Me.” We have forgotten what it is to be loved without fear of punishment, without fear, without qualification.

Human actions are based in only one of two things. Fear or Love. There is a beautiful passage about these only two thoughts that there are.

“Fear is the energy which contracts, closes down, draws in, runs, hides, hoards, harms.
Love is the energy which expands, opens up, sends out, stays, reveals, shares, heals.
Fear wraps out bodies in clothing, love allows us to stand naked. Fear clings to and clutches all that we have, love gives all that we have away. Fear holds close, love holds dear. Fear grasps, love lets go. Fear rankles, love soothes. Fear attacks, love amends.”
– Conversations With God, by Neale Donald Walsch


		
